Adele and Radiohead adult for indie awards

Adele and RadioheadImage copyright

Image caption

Adele and Radiohead are both sealed to British indie tag XL Recordings

Artists including Adele, Radiohead and Stormzy are adult for a AIM awards, that recognize song expelled on eccentric labels.

Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool is nominated for manuscript of a year, alongside Skepta’s critically-acclaimed Konnichiwa and Brian Eno’s The Ship.

Adele’s Hello contends for lane of a year, as does Radiohead’s Burn The Witch and Major Lazer’s Light It Up.

In total, 47 artists are shortlisted opposite 9 categories.

‘Huge diversity’

Rock rope Wolf Alice, French cocktail outfit Christine and a Queens and Australian dance writer Flume are among a acts listed in several categories.

Former Moloko frontwoman Roisin Murphy will collect adult a superb feat award, while Richard Russell – conduct of Adele and Radiohead’s record label, XL Recordings – will accept a colonize award.

The rite is organized by a Association of Independent Music, that represents song expelled outward a “big three” record companies, Sony, Warner and Universal.

Image copyright
Getty Images

Image caption

Stormzy is nominated in a eccentric breakthrough of a year category

Alison Wenham, who leads a trade body, pronounced this year’s shortlist represents a outrageous farrago in genre, gender and ethnicity within a eccentric sector.

“Where else, other than a AIM Awards, would we find soil acts going conduct to conduct with hardcore punk bands and electronic producers?,” she said.

“The shortlisted nominees prominence a fact that a best place to be in a song attention right now is a eccentric sector.”

The awards will be handed out during a rite during The Brewery, London, on 6 September.


Independent manuscript of a year

  • Arca – Mutant
  • Brian Eno – The Ship
  • Field Music – Commontime
  • Frank Carter The Rattlesnakes – Blossom
  • Lapsley – Long Way Home
  • Little Simz – A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons
  • Press To MECO – Good Intent
  • Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
  • Roots Manuva – Bleeds
  • Skepta – Konnichiwa

Independent lane of a year

  • Adele – Hello
  • Christine And The Queens – Tilted
  • Field Music – The Noisy Days Are Over
  • Flume – Never Be Like You
  • Ghetts x Rude Kid – One Take
  • Major Lazer ft Nyla Fuse ODG – Light It Up [remix]
  • Protoje ft Chronixx – Who Knows
  • Radiohead – Burn The Witch
  • Skepta – Man
  • Roots Manuva – Don’t Breathe Out

Independent tag of a year

  • Because Music
  • Bella Union
  • Epitaph/ANTI-
  • Moshi Moshi
  • Ninja Tune

Best ‘difficult’ second album

  • Daughter – Not To Disappear
  • Fat White Family – Songs For Our Mothers
  • Melt Yourself Down – Last Evenings On Earth
  • Money – Suicide Songs
  • Savages – Adore Life

Independent breakthrough of a year

  • Christine And The Queens
  • Father John Misty
  • Flume
  • Neck Deep
  • Stormzy

Hardest operative rope or artist

  • Darren Hayman
  • Kamasi Washington
  • Martyn Joseph
  • Run The Jewels
  • ShaoDow

Best live act

  • Babymetal
  • Caravan Palace
  • Courteeners
  • Sunset Sons
  • Wolf Alice

PPL endowment for most-played eccentric new act

  • KDA
  • Sigala
  • Wolf Alice
  • Tchami

Best tiny label

  • Beatnik Creative
  • Earth Recordings
  • Holy Roar
  • Local Action
  • Numbers

Special catalog recover of a year

  • British Sea Power – The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol. 1)
  • Mikael Tariverdiev – Film Music
  • Slade – When Slade Rocked The World
  • Various Artists – Ork Records: New York, New York
  • Various Artists – Leaf 20 Box Set

Golden welly endowment for best eccentric festival

  • Barn On The Farm
  • Beat Herder
  • Brainchild Festival
  • Pete The Monkey
  • Strawberries Creem Festival

Indie champion award

  • Chris Bye – Arts Council England / Liverpool Sound City
  • Jen Long – DICE
  • Jess Partridge – London In Stereo
  • Jon Tolley – Banquet Records
  • Mary Anne Hobbs – BBC 6Music

Independent video of a year

  • Darwin Deez – The Mess She Made
  • Grimes – Kill V. Maim
  • Kaytranada – Lite Spots
  • Oscar – Sometimes
  • Yeasayer – we Am Chemistry

Outstanding grant to music

  • Roisin Murphy

Pioneer award

  • Richard Russell, XL Recordings

Innovator award

  • TBA

Follow us on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, on Instagram during bbcnewsents, or email

Article source: