Man Booker 2016 winner to be named

Paul Beatty, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet, Ottessa Moshfegh, David Szalay and Madeleine ThienImage copyright

Image caption

Shortlisted authors (from left) Paul Beatty, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet, Ottessa Moshfegh, David Szalay and Madeleine Thien,

The winner of the Man Booker Prize is announced later, with Madeleine Thien’s Do Not Say We Have Nothing the bookies’ favourite to win.

Her novel about a young woman who flees China in the aftermath of the Tiananmen Square protests is 2/1 to claim the £50,000 prize, according to Ladbrokes.

Graeme Macrae Burnet has 3/1 odds for crime thriller His Bloody Project.

The Duchess of Cornwall will present the literary award at a ceremony at London’s Guildhall on Tuesday.

In the third year that the prize has been open to writers of any nationality, the shortlist is split between British, US and Canadian writers. No US author has yet won.

Media captionTwo shortlisted authors for the Man Booker Prize 2016 discuss their influences on Radio 4’s Today

The full shortlist is:

  • Paul Beatty (US) – The Sellout. Beatty’s satire explores the topics of race and violence against a backdrop of family deceit and a fatal police shooting.
  • Deborah Levy (UK) – Hot Milk. Levy is the only previously shortlisted author after Swimming Home was named in 2012. Hot Milk sees a woman forced to confront her difficult relationship with her mother when the pair travel to Spain to try to find a cure for the latter’s mystery paralysis.
  • Graeme Macrae Burnet (UK) – His Bloody Project. The story of a murder case in a remote crofting community in 19th Century Scotland has outsold the others on the shortlist, leaving its small Glasgow-based publisher scrambling to meet demand.
  • Ottessa Moshfegh (US) – Eileen. A disturbed young woman is trapped between her role as her alcoholic father’s carer in his squalid home and her day job as a secretary at a youth prison.
  • David Szalay (Canada-UK) – All That Man Is. All That Man Is tracks nine men at different stages of their life.
  • Madeleine Thien (Canada) – Do Not Say We Have Nothing. Thien’s third novel is narrated by a character called Ai-Ming, who tells the story of her family in Revolutionary China from the 1960s to the events leading to the Beijing demonstrations of 1989.

The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book. The winner will receive a further £50,000.

The 2015 prize was won by Marlon James for A Brief History of Seven Killings.

Coverage from this year’s ceremony will be on the BBC News Channel from 21:30 BST.

Follow us on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, on Instagram, or if you have a story suggestion email